This site is no longer maintained
This website should only be accessed for School Messenger, SIS or planning agents information.

Who We Are

Cornwall Fire and Rescue Service (CFRS) is the statutory fire and rescue service covering Cornwall. Created under the Fire Services Act 1947 as "Cornwall County Fire Brigade", the name changed to "Cornwall Fire and Rescue Service" on 1 October 2009.  Leaving London and Cleveland as the only two UK fire services to use the name "Fire Brigade".

The service is administered by Cornwall Council.  With a new Service Headquarters (SHQ) at Tolvaddon, which opened in 2015. 

Continue reading

Find out more about who we are from the navigation. 

CFRS operates 31 community fire stations, of which:

  • two are crewed day and night (wholetime)
  • five are day-crewed (Monday to Sunday, 07:00 to 19:00)
  • 1 is day-crewed (Tues-Fri 8am – 6.30pm)
  • the remainder are crewed by on-call firefighters, who live near to their fire station and can arrive there within five minutes of a call being received

Due to an influx in visitors during the summer months, Newquay Community Fire Station changes to a wholetime structure during the summer period. The breakdown of stations is as follows:

  • 2 wholetime shift / on-call stations
  • 6 wholetime day-crewed stations / on-call stations
  • 31 on-call stations

Around 730 people work in the Service. This is split between operational staff and a range of support staff including:

  • business support
  • health and safety
  • equality and diversity
  • training and development
  • engineering and workshops
  • procurement
  • critical control
  • performance
  • support for our people

The work we do is extremely varied.  It includes everything from fighting fires and rescuing people to attending road traffic collisions.  As well as promoting community safety within local schools and to the wider communities within Cornwall.

Find out more on what we do