This site is no longer maintained
This website should only be accessed for School Messenger, SIS or planning agents information.

Council background

Cornwall Council is a unitary authority.

It was created on 1 April 2009 by merging Cornwall County Council and the six borough and district councils in Cornwall - Caradon, Carrick, Kerrier, North Cornwall, Restormel and Penwith.

Continue reading
  • It is the biggest employer in Cornwall.
  • It provides a wide range of services to more than half a million residents.
  • It is responsible for spending a budget of more than £1 billion every year.

Council staff are based in offices, depots and facilities across Cornwall.  Advice and information about council services are available through an extensive network of one stop shops, a mobile out and about service, our call centre and our website.  In future we hope to provide a wider range of council service information in facilities like leisure centres and children's centres.

You can find out more about the Council's committees and their work by following this link to scrutiny committees.

Having a single council gives Cornwall a strong and united voice when dealing with national government, regional agencies and partner organisations ... but it does not mean that it's a case of "one size fits all".

Different towns and villages in Cornwall have different priorities. Cornwall Council is responding to these local needs through the community networks.

The nineteen community network areas are focused around: Bodmin, Bude, Callington, Camborne and Redruth, Camelford, China Clay area, Falmouth and Penryn, Hayle and St Ives, Helston and the Lizard, Launceston, Liskeard and Looe, Newquay and St Columb, Penzance, Saltash and Torpoint, St Agnes and Perranporth, St Austell, St Blazey and Fowey and Lostwithiel, Truro and Roseland, Wadebridge and Padstow.