This site is no longer maintained
This website should only be accessed for School Messenger, SIS or planning agents information.

Electoral review of Cornwall Council 2016-18

Final recommendations published - December 2018

On 4 December 2018, the Local Government Boundary Commission for England published the final recommendations for Cornwall.. Further information is available on the Commission website.

Continue reading

We have also updated the Cornwall Council interactive mapping

The Commission has now completed its review.

Any changes will take effect at the Cornwall Council elections in 2021.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has limited powers to make recommendations about the electoral arrangements of city, parish and town councils that are directly affected by changes to electoral division boundaries in Cornwall.  

As a result of their final recommendations on new divisions for Cornwall Council, the Commission are making changes to the parish electoral arrangements for the following city, parish and town councils from their elections in 2021: 

  • Bodmin Town Council
  • Bude-Stratton Town Council
  • Camborne Town Council
  • Carn Brea Parish Council
  • Dobwalls and Trewidland Parish Council
  • Egloshayle Parish Council
  • Falmouth Town Council
  • Hayle Town Council
  • Helston Town Council
  • Kenwyn Parish Council
  • Launceston Town Council
  • Liskeard Town Council
  • Ludgvan Parish Council
  • Luxulyan Parish Council
  • Newquay Town Council
  • Penryn Town Council
  • Pentewan Valley Parish Council
  • Penzance Town Council
  • Perranzabuloe Parish Council
  • Redruth Town Council
  • St Agnes Parish Council
  • St Austell Town Council
  • St Clement Parish Council
  • St Ives Town Council
  • St Stephen-in-Brannel Parish Council
  • Saltash Town Council
  • Torpoint Town Council
  • Treverbyn Parish Council
  • Truro City Council

Further details of the changes affecting these areas are set out in paragraphs 208 to 238 of the Commission's report on the final recommendations for Cornwall and via the Commission's website.

We will update our Cornwall Council interactive mapping for these areas in due course.

Council size decision by LGBCE announced 26 September 2017
Consultation on division boundaries 26 September 2017 to 19 February 2018
Draft recommendations published by LGBCE 5 June 2018
Consultation on draft recommendations 5 June 2018 to 17 September 2018
Final recommendations published by LGBCE 4 December 2018


The Commission published final recommendations on 4 December 2018.

Consultation on draft recommendations for new electoral divisions closed on 17 September 2018.

On 5 June 2018, the Local Government Boundary Commission for England published draft recommendations for Cornwall and a summary of the draft recommendations for Cornwall. The Commission also published interactive maps of their draft recommendations.

The Commission plans to reduce the number of Cornwall Councillors to 87 and change the boundaries of all current divisions. 

The Commission conducted a public consultation period on their draft recommendations.

On 17 September 2018, the Council submitted its response to those draft recommendations to the LGBCE. The submission contained the following documents:

This consultation closed at midnight on 17 September 2018.

On 26 September 2017, the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) confirmed their decision that the Council size for Cornwall from 2021 will be 87 Councillors. This is a reduction of 36 from the current 123.

The Commission’s rationale for their decision is set out in their letter to the Council’s Chief Executive. It is also shown in their media statement.

In October 2016, Cornwall Council sent its first submission on Council size to the LGBCE. The submission contained the following documents:

On 3 March 2017, the Council made its submission to meet the Commission’s deadline for final submissions on Council size. The Council's final submission on Council size is available on the Commission's website.

On 13 May 2017, the LGBCE released a statement proposing that Cornwall Council should have 87 councillors in future.

The statement also invited the public to submit local views on the proposed council size during a public consultation period by 7 August 2017. The LGBCE wanted the public to respond to these questions:

  1. Do you think 87 is the right number of councillors to be able to take decisions effectively?
  2. Would a council size of 87 enable the Council to represent the interests of all Cornwall’s communities?
  3. If you don’t agree that Cornwall should be represented by 87 councillors, what would your alternative number be, and why?

This consultation on council size closed at midnight on 7 August 2017.

On 7 August 2017 the Council submitted its response to the above LGBCE consultation on council size. The Council confirmed its previous submission for the number of councillors to be 99. It also highlighted the view of a large majority of local councils that the future council size for Cornwall should be not less than 99.

The Council made available forecasts of the electorate by polling district, parish and Community Network Area. They also included links to mapping to help understand that information. The information and mapping are available via the Electorate forecast information tab on the left of this page.


The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) conducted an electoral review of Cornwall Council. This was the first electoral review to take place in Cornwall since the creation of the unitary council in 2009. The review was completed in December 2018.

Any changes will take effect at the 2021 Cornwall Council elections.

The LGBCE visited Cornwall on 30 March 2016. They gave presentations on the electoral review to Parish and Cornwall Councillors. The following documents are available to download: 

In May 2016, Cornwall Council published a briefing pack containing more information about the review process. 

The electoral review examines Cornwall Council’s electoral arrangements and covers the following issues:

  • the total number of members to be elected to the Council;
  • the number and boundaries of future electoral divisions;
  • the number of councillors representing each electoral division; and
  • the name of each electoral division.

A principal aim of the review is to deliver electoral equality across the local authority by ensuring that all councillors represent a similar number of voters.

The LGBCE is required by law to be impartial, with its decisions based on evidence and reason.  The representations of all those taking part in the review are treated equally and without bias.

There are no pre-conceived views on the future number of councillors for Cornwall Council.  The LGBCE considers proposals for an increase, a decrease, or retention of the existing number of councillors.

The Council set up an Electoral Review Panel of Councillors from all of the Council’s political groups. The Panel is Chaired by Councillor Malcolm Brown. The full Membership of the Panel along with the Panel’s meeting papers can be found on this website. This Panel is supported by an Officer Group.