This site is no longer maintained
This website should only be accessed for School Messenger, SIS or planning agents information.

Pensions Committee

Role of the Pensions Committee

Cornwall Council has set up a Pensions Committee to

Continue reading
  • exercise its functions as the Administering Authority for the Local Government Pension Scheme.

Under the Local Authority (Functions and Responsibilities) (England) Regulations 2000:

  • the responsibility for the Local Government Pension Scheme lies with the full Council. They have delegated responsibility to the Pensions Committee.

The responsibilities of the Committee includes 

  • the Fund’s investment strategy
  • the Statement of Investment Principle
  • acceptance of the triennial valuation report produced by the Fund Actuary
  • appointment of AVC providers
  • the appointment of investment managers, consultants and the custodian.

Other responsibilities include the approval of the:

The Pension Committee is made up of:

  • Councillors
  • Employee representatives
  • Employer representatives

each having one vote.

The membership of the Committee from November 2020 is as follows:


  • Cllr John Fitter
  • Cllr David Harris
  • Cllr John Herd
  • Cllr Derek Holley (Chair)
  • Cllr Sue James
  • Cllr Joanna Kenny
  • Cllr Jayne Kirkham
  • Cllr Pete Mitchell (Vice Chair)
  • Cllr Oliver Monk
  • Cllr John Wood

Employee Representatives

  • Mr N Olgard
  • Mr A Stott

Employer Representatives

  • Vacant
  • Mr C Wilson

See below for the:

More information including the agendas and minutes of the Pension Committee are in: