This site is no longer maintained
This website should only be accessed for School Messenger, SIS or planning agents information.

What we do and how we work

Cornwall Council is a unitary authority, created on 1st April 2009 by merging Cornwall County Council with the six Borough and District Councils of Cornwall - Caradon, Carrick, Kerrier, North Cornwall, Restormel and Penwith.

Continue reading

The Council has a revenue budget of over £1bn, with 123 local Councillors representing the 550,000 residents of Cornwall, delivering services to every community across the County.

Our Cabinet has committed to deliver on five key priorities:

  • Healthy Cornwall
  • Homes for Cornwall
  • Green and Prosperous Cornwall
  • Connecting Cornwall
  • Democratic Cornwall

The Council has a workforce of around 5,000 and is the biggest employer in Cornwall. The Chief Executive and Strategic Directors form the Council's management team, which leads the work that provides services across Cornwall.

Council staff and services are based in offices, depots and facilities across Cornwall. Advice and information about Council services are available through an extensive network of our Information Service (One Stop Shops), call centre and our website.

In addition, Cornwall Council has a diverse group of wholly owned companies providing infrastructure, engineering, housing, jobs, social care, facilities management, inward investment, transport and other essential services to Cornwall. Corserv Group includes Cormac Solutions, Cornwall Airport Newquay, Cornwall Development Company, Cornwall Housing and Via East Midlands (a joint venture between Cornwall Council and Nottinghamshire County Council).

Having a single Council gives Cornwall a strong and united voice when dealing with national government, regional agencies and partner organisations. This has meant that Cornwall was the first rural authority to agree a Devolution Deal with the Government. The Cornwall Devolution Deal outlines the powers that will be devolved to Cornwall for transport, energy, health and social care, and heritage.

However, it does not mean that it's a case of "one size fits all". Different towns and villages in Cornwall have different priorities. We respond to those local needs through 19 community network areas focused around:

  • Bodmin
  • Bude
  • Callington
  • Camborne and Redruth
  • Camelford
  • China Clay area
  • Falmouth and Penryn
  • Hayle and St Ives
  • Helston and The Lizard
  • Launceston
  • Liskeard and Looe
  • Newquay and St Columb
  • Penzance
  • Saltash and Torpoint
  • St Agnes and Perranporth
  • St Austell,
  • St Blazey, Fowey and Lostwithiel
  • Truro and Roseland
  • Wadebridge and Padstow

With a competitive employee reward package that attracts, retains and motivates our employees, open plan working environment in most offices, and a can-do culture where talented people thrive, Cornwall Council is a great place to work. And, with its beautiful beaches, stunning countryside and superb community spirit, it is also a great place to live.

Find out what we can offer you as an employee of the Council